Committee on Public Undertakings

Legislature, being a law making body of the State also holds the responsibility of proper governance by overseeing the functionaries of the Executive and its accountability to the State through its foras i.e., Legislative Assembly and its Committees. The Legislature, especially through the Committee on Pubic Undertakings deals with the Commercial concerns viz., Government Companies, Statutory Corporations and Departmentally managed Undertakings which are subject to audit by the Comptroller and Auditor General of India.

Composition of the Committee

The Committee on Public Undertakings is constituted under Rule 255 of the Rules of Telangana Legislative Assembly. The Committee consists of 13 members of whom 9 members are elected from amongst the Members of the Assembly and 4 members are elected from amongst the Members of the Legislative Council.

They are elected according to the principle of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote and in accordance with the regulations framed in this behalf by the Hon'ble Speaker. The present committee for the year 2015-16 was constituted on 27-03-2015

The Committee Functions are enunciated in Rule 254 as under:

(a) Examination of the Reports and Accounts of Public Undertakings specified in the Second Schedule appended to the Rules;

(b) To examine the Reports of Comptroller and Auditor General of India on the State Public Undertakings

(c) To examine in the context of the autonomy and efficiency of the public undertakings whether the affairs of the public undertakings are being managed in accordance with sound business principles and prudent commercial practice.