The Chairman

As per the Article 182 of the Indian Constitution, the Legislative Council shall have a Chairman. Members of the Council elect the Chairman of the House as per Rule 9 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Telangana Legislative Council.

The Chairman presides over the sittings of the House. He regulates the debates and proceedings of the House. He is charged with the maintenance of order in the House and enforces the observance of rules by the members. He determines when a member should be called to speak and how long he be allowed to speak. He can impose time-limit on speeches, whenever necessary.

The Chairman decides the admissibility of questions, resolutions and motions. The consent of the Chairman is necessary for the presentation of petitions to the House or for calling the attention of a Minister to any matter of urgent public importance.

The Chairman constitutes various committees and nominates the members and chairmen of the committees and issues directions for the organization of work and procedure to be followed..

Sri Kanakamamidi Swamy Goud

Sri Kanakamamidi Swamy Goud was born on July 5, 1954 in Kismathpaur village, Rajendranagar mandal, Ranga Reddy District. He did B.Sc. He married Manorama and has 1 son and 2 daughters.

He held several posts in TNGO Association. He led TNGO's historical 42 day Sakala Janula Samme for the cause of Statehood for Telangana.

Sri Swamy Goud was elected to Legislative Council in 2013 and was Floor Leader, TRS Party in the Council. He was elected as Chairman of the Telangana Legislative Council on 02.07.2014.


Honorable Chairman Speech

Email :